The Mining, Geological & Metallurgical Institute of India
The Oldest Institute of Its King in Asia
About Us

The Institute is represented in :

  • Coal Advisory Council, Govt. of India.
  • Mineral Advisory Board
  • Central Geological Programming Board (Apex body which approves annually the total exploration programmes across the country ).
  • Bureau of Indian Standards.
  • National Safety Council.
  • Selection Committee for "National Mineral Award" ( Highest level national award in the field of geology-mining-metallurgy).

MGMI Council for 2016-2017 :

President :
Dr. N. K. Nanda,
Director (Technical), NMDC
  • Avijit Ghosh, CMD, HEC
  • A K Jha, CMD, MCL
  • T K Nag, CMD, NCL
  • J P Goenka, Mg. Partner, NMC
  • Immediate Past Presidents:
  • A N Sahay, Former CMD, MCL
  • T K Lahiry, Former CMD, BCCL
  • Immediate Past Secretaries:
  • Dr Debasish Sarkar,
    GM, (HRD), CIL
  • Prof. SC Ray,
    Former HOD, IIT, Kharagpur
  • Hony Secretary :
  • Prasanta Roy, Sr Manager (CV), CIL
  • Hony Jt. Secretary : Hony Treasurer : Hony Editor :
  • Rajiw Lochan
    Chief Manager, Geol, CMPDI
  • Ranajit Talapatra
    Sr. Manager (CP), CIL
  • B C Bhattacharya
    Former CGM (WBPD), CIL
  • Council Members:
  • Amrita Acharya
    Former Coal Controller
  • Samir Kumar Ghosh,
    Former Mgr(Met),HCL
  • V K Arora,
    Chief Mentor (Coal), KCT & Bros
  • J P Goenka,
    Mg Partner, NMC
  • Dr J P Barnwal
    Chief Sc. & Head, CSIR
  • Phalguni Guha
    Former CGM, Coal Videsh, CIL
  • Prof (Dr) Ashis Bhattacherjee,
    IIT, KGP
  • A K Karmakar,
    Chief Mgr. (Mining), CIL
  • Anup Biswas,
    Former DDG, Mines Safety
  • Prof G P Karmakar,
    IIT, KGP
  • L K Bose
    Former ED, CIL
  • Prof. (Dr.) Subir Kumar Mukhopadhyay,
    IIT, KGP
  • Bhaskar Chakraborti,
    Former Dir (SG), GSI
  • Awadh Kishore Pandey,
    Sr Mgr (Mining), CIL
  • Akhilesh Choudhury
    Former DDG, GSI
  • Anil Kumar Singh
    GM, TS to Dir (Tech)
  • Gautam Dhar,
    Former CGM(CP), CIL
  • Dr Amalendu Sinha,
    Former Director, CIMFR
  • Head Office
    GN-38/4, SECTOR-V,
    SALT LAKE, KOLKATA - 700 091.

    IT Associate : COMPUTER Ed. Ranchi