

## MINING, GEOLOGICAL & METALLURGICAL INSTITUTE OF INDIA

## GN-38/4 \* SECTOR-V \* SALT LAKE \* KOLKATA - 700 091

Email: office@mgmiindia.in/mgmisecretary@gmail.com Phone: +91 33 23573482 / +91 33 40005168, Website: www.mgmiindia.in

Ref.: MGMI/107/2025-28 June 21, 2025

## Notice Inviting Nominations for Election of Council Members (2025-28)

The following is the list of existing Council Members of MGMI.

Shri Deb Kumar Kundu, Prof (Dr) Bhabesh Ch Sarkar, Dr Chandra Shekhar Singh, Prof (Dr) Netai Chandra Dey, Prof (Dr) Rajib Dey, Dr Murari Prasad Roy, Shri Ajit Singh Choudhary, Dr Rabi Narayan Patra, Dr Hemant Agarwal, Prof (Dr) Khanindra Pathak, Dr Jai Prakash Barnwal, Shri J V Dattatreyulu, Shri Tapas Kumar Nag, Dr Prabhat Kumar Mandal, Shri J P Goenka, Dr G P Karmakar, Shri V.K. Arora, Dr Amalendu Sinha, Shri Awadh Kishore Pandey, Dr Peeyush Kumar, Dr Ashis Bhattacherjee,

The above underlined Council Members will be completing their terms for the year 2022-2025 and will, therefore, complete their tenure pursuant to Clause 35(i) of the Articles of Association of the Institute.

Accordingly, there will be a <u>total of 11 (eleven) vacancies</u> in the Council, as per clause 35 of the Memorandum and Articles of Association.

Nominations of the candidates for election to the Council for 2025-28 are hereby invited for filling up 11 (eleven) vacancies that will occur. As per clause 34 of the Articles, only full members (Annual and Life), not in arrears of dues to the Institute up to the previous financial year (2024-25) at the time of notice of invitation for nominations for election, shall be entitled to nominate candidates for election, vote in the election, or serve as Council Members. Only those who have at least three years standing as full members shall be eligible for nomination and election to the Council and Office bearers. Self-nomination for election to the Council is not acceptable.

Nominations, on the letterhead of the <u>nominating members</u> or on a white sheet of paper, giving the Nominee candidate's name, complete address with email id, contact no., membership number and brief Bio-data <u>not exceeding 05 (five) lines</u>, along with the nominated candidate's consent in writing should be received by the Convenor, Board of Scrutineers by post, speed post, hand or by e-mail (office@mgmiindia.in or mgmisecretary@gmail.com) on or <u>before 3 PM of 11.07.2025 (Friday</u>).

The members who are completing their terms of the Council are eligible for re-election subject to fulfillment of terms as per clause no. 34 & 35(i) of the Articles of Association of the Institute.

In pursuance of the directives in the Memorandum of Articles of Association of the Institute regarding Clause 38(a) Election of Council Members, the election, if necessitated due to the number of nominations exceeding the number of vacancies, will be through E-voting. The details will be intimated in due course after nominations are received and finalized.

N.B. One member can nominate only one candidate.

Prof Bhabesh Chandra Sarkar

Convener. Board of Scrutineers